top of page

FEATURED ARTIST: Alan Marco

Hi! I’m Alan Marco, and I’m an upcoming sixteen-year-old songwriter that’s projected to release new projects in the next few years! I’m from Orlando, Florida, and I’ve fallen in love with the way music is made, from vocals to synths to signature instrumentals that make a song truly one of kind. I’ll be making indie pop, electric guitarish, teenage dreamy alternative music. So excited to release everything that’s been on my mind for the last few years, from hearty highs to the bluest lows, and everything in between.


Alright, so first question. Who are some big influences in your music and why? 

I definitely try to gather from all types of music. Since last year I’ve loved COIN, LANY, The 1975, and similar bands that capture this sort of nostalgic indie pop sounding-sound. With upcoming music and the music I plan to make, I hope to portray a similar feeling for my listeners. It’ll feel similar, yet completely different.


What are some goals for your music in the long run?

Ever since I’ve begun focusing more on music, I’ve always wanted one of my songs to be someone’s favorite song. I mean—I guess that’s a common goal for all musicians. I want to be someone’s outlet for emotions, to be a voice for what they’re feeling, to be the music that they come to when feeling xyz emotion. One of my favorite artists, Maggie Rogers, explained in a documentary that her job is to feel emotions and project it through music, and I couldn’t agree more. So to sum it all up, my music being there for someone is really one of my biggest goals.


What collab(s) would you like the do in the future? 

I haven’t thought about this one yet! Any other independent artists finding their way through the music scene would be fantastic considering we could help each other out. We’ll just have to see as time passes!


Maybe you’ve seen our January featured artist article about Emily Brophy, would you consider maybe doing a collab with her at some time?

Yes of course! Emily is so so so talented and I’ve gotten to know her for a little bit since the start of 2019. I’d love to work on something with her, she’s the sweetest.


It sure will be interesting to see where that goes! Next question, what do you do when you hit a road block in your song writing? 

I try not to force any songs out if they don’t want to. If a song wants to write itself out, it will. If not, let it be. Some songs come out immediately as I continue writing, and others are visited months after the initial lyric is written—and still come out incomplete.  I’ve learned that I can’t force creativity out of myself like a switch. Usually I let myself have a break if I do hit one—But if I hit a really tough wall, songwriting practices and exercises really help. There are tons of books out there for them, and I’ve recently began to love reading about helpful tips for sparking that creativity when it seems you don’t know how to light the fire. I recommend “Writing Better Lyrics” by Pat Pattinson. Great exercises and overall songwriting tips!


That was really great advice that i really think is going to help someone (including myself)!  What is your favorite way to listen to music and why? 

It would probably be through a good pair of headphones. Hearing the production and instrumentals of a track surround you really immerse you into the world the artist puts you in. I haven’t had a chance to try other mediums like vinyl or cassettes, but I feel like I would enjoy it as well! But currently, even putting in plain ol’ earbuds is perfect.


What is the first album you can remembering purchasing/listening to? 

Super super odd and out of character honestly but I do remember listening to Katy Perry’s “Prism” album every day in elementary school walking to and from school. Haven’t listened to it since, but my taste in music has definitely broadened from just the pop genre. Cool question to reflect where my music tastes were back then!


Thank you! Anything to look forward to, like any upcoming music, in 2019 for you? Yes! I believe around the summer when I’m off of school I’ll probably release something then. Although I won’t have many releases this year, I’m always writing and working on new stuff, so my priority this year is to just focus on the basics of figuring out what I really want to sound like. So perfecting songs and sounds (which will probably released later) is looking like the main goal at the moment.   But in case you’re looking for something kinda soon—you’ll hear something new in April. —Also! Throughout the year I’ll throw out covers here and there to occupy your ears :)


I’m sure all of it will be amazing! Can’t wait!  Last, but not least, is there anything else you want the readers to know? 

Sure. My song “MIDNIGHT SAND” is out on SoundCloud, and it was a cool little project that focused on atmospheric production. Also, my first performance (ever!) is at my schools talent show later this year.  Oh and one last thing. 2020 is going to be a magical year regarding my music. Stay tuned!  Besides that, thanks so much for having me, and thank you to anyone who has ever supported me! Couldn’t do any of this without you.


 

Make sure you check out Alan's music here: https://m.soundcloud.com/amsongsTwitter: @songsbyalan

By Jalen and Eesha!

Comments


bottom of page