top of page

FEATURED ARTIST: Cloe

Emerging in 2019, Cloe is definitely an artist you need to know. Over the course of the next year, Cloe will be releasing original music as well as covers. Described as “dark pop,” Cloe is a musician you definitely need to add to your list of artists to watch. Gracey got the chance to talk with Cloe about her start, what she wants listeners to take away from her music, and more. Read more below!

Please tell us a little bit about yourself.

I’m a singer-songwriter, and I make sad music. I’m an artist, and I put my emotional struggles into my art. Music has always been my escape. I believe that no matter how many lives I’ve lived, no matter how many people I’ve been, I was an artist every time. Music is definitely what I identify with.


What do you think makes you stand out compared to other upcoming artists?

I think of myself as pretty emotionally open when it comes to music and writing. I don’t really present myself as anything that I’m not. I don’t think I need to create an imaginary image, because the whole point of my music is to not hide from yourself.


What led you to start creating music?

From the moment I was born, music was my life. It’s always been so important to me because it’s my escape. People need that, and mine’s music. I don’t think it was a decision, I just knew. I’ve never questioned it. I’ve never once thought about going somewhere differently with my life.


What would you like people to take from the music you create?

My music is sad, because I want it to be relatable. After somebody listens to my song, I want them to feel as though they’ve entered another world where their darkness and their sadness isn’t a “bad” thing ... because it isn’t.


How would you describe your music?

Dark pop.


We saw that you recently released a music video for your cover of "Out of Love" by Alessia Cara, can you tell us what the filming process was like?

That song is so real and full of emotion. When I recorded the cover, I entered a different state, so I knew that the video would have the same effect on me - and it did. It was really just me getting lost in the lyrics.


Is there anything else you would like our readers to know?

There are so many things I’d want to say to people who are connecting to my music, but I guess I just want people to know not to be afraid of their own minds. Don’t be afraid to be emotional ... if you’re sad, be sad. If you’re mad, be mad. I think we need to get over the whole concept of hiding ourselves from ourselves.



Make sure you follow Cloe on social media:

Instagram: cloewilder

Facebook: Cloe Wilder

Youtube: Cloe Wilder

Twitter: Cloe Wilder

Tumblr: Cloe Wilder

Photo by Chalisa Singh

Comments


bottom of page