top of page

INTERVIEW: Eliza & The Delusionals

After their latest single landed the number one position on Alt Nation's Alt 18, Eliza & The Delusionals have proved they are a band you need to be listening to. This indie-rock band, hailing from Australia, is sure to make big waves all over the world. As a matter of fact, their U.S. debut, "Just Exist," accumulated over a million streams in just a few weeks. We had the opportunity to speak to the band about their recent release, their upcoming tour with Silversun Pickups, and more! 


📸: Matt Walter


What made you start playing music? 

For me personally, I had always loved music and singing when I was a kid. I got tickets to see Coldplay in 2008 (I think it was), and I loved the show and the whole experience so much that I knew I wanted to do music as a career. It's still one of my favourite concerts I've seen to this day.


What is the writing process like for your songs?

It's always a little different. Sometimes I'll have a line or an idea that I've written down in my notes and the song will sort of build itself out of that, or Kurt will have some chords or a melody that we start working together with. Usually when we connect strongly with something the song writes itself out of the emotion or feeling we have.


How did you find your own, unique sound? 

I'm never sure how to answer this question. I guess the whole band comes from really strong different musical tastes and how we grew a love for music. So I think all of the differences come together when we get into the studio to make "our sound". If that makes sense.


What keeps you going in the music industry?

I think it's just our love for writing songs and performing. There is nothing like playing a song that started out as a line in a notebook and some rough chords on an acoustic guitar in your bedroom that people are singing along to. I think we live for that energy as musicians.


What has been the hardest hurdle to get over musically? 

Creatively, I think mental blocks are a real thing. I've had times where I've had ideas I've really connected with but spent days trying to get what I'm trying to say out and it just doesn't happen. I'm still learning to accept that every time we try and write things might not come out the way we imagine them. It's really frustrating, and I'm sure a lot of musicians/creatives can understand that frustration.


What is your favorite part about being in the music industry, whether it be the behind the scenes aspect or performance wise? 

Besides playing shows, I think it's the way you can connect with someone through lyrics and music. I read a lot of the comments online and it's really wild seeing how so many people around the world have connected with our songs in their own ways. I think it's really cool that people make their own meaning and idea of the song, and it's usually completely different to what we originally had written it about.


How did "Just Exist" come to be? Was it inspired by personal experience or is it hypothetical?

I wrote the lyrics for Just Exist about the balance of feeling depressed and low but also feeling creative and inspired by those feelings. It's a real bittersweet because I think some of my favourite ideas and lyrics have come from some of the saddest times in my life. So I guess it's personal experience.


"Just Exist" landed the number one spot on Alt Nation, how does it feel to have a song of your own earn such (a well-deserved) position? 

Firstly, thank you. We really didn't expect it. It feels really rewarding to hear so many people connect with Just Exist. It truly is a dream come true.


What are you most looking forward to on your upcoming tour with Silversun Pickups?

For me it's so crazy because I bought their album 'Swoon' when I was 14 and I have been listening to them since. So even the fact that we've been asked to share a stage with them is exciting enough. I think the fact that we get to play some of America's most iconic music venues and travel through the states in a tour bus as well, we just feel really lucky. We can't wait to experience it all. 


Lastly, if you could give any advice to upcoming musicians, what would it be?

I would say that no one is going to be as passionate and connected to your music in the industry then you are. So always try and make decisions for yourself and your music, rather than changing into something you don't want to be creatively - and find people to work with you that are in the same mindset.



Don't miss Eliza & The Delusionals on tour!


2/4/20 Ventura Theater (Ventura, CA)

2/5/20 Observatory (Santa Ana, CA)

2/7/20 Wiltern (Los Angeles, CA)

2/8/20 Fox Theater (Oakland, CA)

2/10/20 House of Blues (Las Vegas, NV)

2/12/20 The Union Event Center (Salt Lake City, UT)

2/13/20 Belly Up (Aspen, CO)

2/14/20 Ogden Theatre (Denver, CO)

2/16/20 Cain's Ballroom (Tulsa, OK)

2/18/20 House of Blues (Houston, TX)

2/19/20 Stubb's BBQ (Austin, TX)

2/20/20 House of Blues (Dallas, TX)

2/22/20 The Fillmore (New Orleans, LA)


Keep up with the band:

 


Interview by Gracey and Genevieve!

Comments


bottom of page