top of page

INTERVIEW: Iris

With strong vocals and heart-wrenching lyrics, this new pop-rock artist is ready to take over 2019; we are excited to introduce Iris! Debuting her first single today, Iris is definitely one to watch. With more music on the way, Iris is just beginning, and we are so excited to see what is coming next! In anticipation of the future of Iris and her music, Gracey had the opportunity to ask her a few questions about herself, her debut release, and more!


Please tell us a little bit about yourself and your music.

My music is kind of eclectic like me. I love all different types of music, so I try to incorporate that into what I do. I’d say mainly there are some cool guitars, drums, and ambient sounds. Vocally, I like to channel sultry vibes mixed with belting.


Can you talk to us about your debut single "Crazy?"

"Crazy" is the first song I did on my project after a long time of writing and searching for something that felt special to me. It’s heartfelt and I feel like it really captures who I am as an artist. There’s a lot of pain but hope in the song. It's ambient organ immediately captures your attention.


We heard that "Crazy" is set for a feature on Netflix's Santa Clarita Diet, how did this come about?

My good friend Manny Marroquin reached out to me about submitting the song to one of his friends who works at Netflix. I sent him the track and got the good news that out of all the submissions, they loved my song and wanted to use it. It was such a great feeling knowing that what I’m doing is connecting with people. That means the world to me.


What made you interested in music?

Music has always been a big part of my life. My dad was always playing music in the house and we’d take drives and listen to his favorite bands from Led Zeppelin and Pink Floyd to Van Halen. I joined the choirs in my school, did talent shows and decided at a young age that singing/music is what I wanted to do with my life. It always brought me joy and a sense of completion. I love connecting with people as well, and I truly believe that music brings every kind of person together, no matter what beliefs you have, and I think that is beautiful.


What do you want people to take away from your music?

I want people to know that it’s okay to hurt, it's okay to be vulnerable. I believe that with every heartbreak or pain that you endure, it makes you stronger. When I write and sing my songs, it's my therapy. I hope that when people listen to my music, it will take them to a place to feel.


Is there anything else you would like to say?

I’m so excited to be sharing my music with everyone and I want to thank everyone who’s been with me along the way. The best is yet to come!



Be sure to follow Iris on Instagram: www.instagram.com/iris

Check out "Crazy" here: Spotify

Photo by Steven Taylor.

Comments


bottom of page