top of page

INTERVIEW: SUMif

Electro-pop artist, SUMif, recently released her newest EP titled Kinda Real and it is phenomenal. Consisting of only four songs, this EP demonstrates the power and energy that Steph Wells holds. Gracey got the opportunity to ask SUMif a few questions regarding her music and more!


Can you tell a little about yourself for our readers who may not be familiar with you?

I'm SUMif aka Steph - I make electro-pop music and I wanna make you dance.

How would you describe your music?

fun, dancey, free, authentic


Please tell us about your most recent release.

Last summer I met someone who opened my eyes and truly captivated me in a totally new way. The Kinda Real EP the entire story. My journey through it from start to finish, from wonder to wanting to falling to feeling to letting go and learning. I feel like she was exactly who I was meant to meet at exactly that time... I discovered new things about myself and took with me a new understanding of what I value. I'll be forever grateful for the experience. I decided on these songs for the EP as each one is a snapshot of feeling, to take the listener on the journey with me. For me, being able to release these songs as an EP is like taking the whole story and tying it up with a nice little bow and shipping it off into the universe.

What do you want people to take away from your music?

I want people to connect to it in a way that they feel seen, knowing that someone else has felt those things before them. Also, I want to make them move, I want people to feel free dancing and being them authentic selves, we spend too much time worrying about what other people think of us - I hope my music makes you want to be unapologetically yourself.

Which song were you most excited for listeners to hear?

Know You is my favorite song I've written and also my favorite one to play live. I can't wait to play it on a festival stage one day.


What goals do you have set for the future?

Oh I've got a list a mile long, but on the top is to play major music festivals around the world. Music festivals are my happy place, and I want to give that experience of being at a show dancing with your friends back to the audience.


If you could collaborate with any artist, who would it be?

Tove Lo


Lastly, do you have anything else you would like to tell our readers?

Hope you enjoy my EP - and if you dig it, follow me on instagram @sumifmusic


Make sure to listen to Kinda Real here: Spotify

Follow SUMif here: Instagram Twitter

Comments


bottom of page