top of page

The Impact of Music

Music has a different meaning to everyone. For some, music might be the thing that saved their lives. For others, it may be their outlet- an escape from reality. Although music has a different impact on everyone, it plays a significant part in people's lives, no matter what their mood may be.


Over the past week, the team at Welcome Home has collected information from our followers to see what music means to them. Here are some of the responses we received: 



  "Most important thing in my life; introduced me to countless friends and my

dream career; gives me something to be happy about and has the ability to make me feel multiple emotions at once"



    "Music is a language that can say what you're feeling and thinking in a way that can bring together people who know and understand each other and care for them in a genuine way, it's quite literally saved my life and brought me to find all my closest friends." 



    "I feel most myself through creativity. Music, to me, is the most harmonious union of emotion and expression possible. Music connects people in ways nothing else can. Music has brought me opportunities and individuals I never would have connected with otherwise. Music gives me the ability to defiantly express my individuality in life limited only by imagination. Everyone should learn to play an instrument." 



    "Music is safety and comfort. It's the feeling of knowing I'm not alone when my depression tries to convince me otherwise. It's the place where I make most of my friends and the one thing I always gravitate back to." 



    "Music is the one way I feel truly in touch with myself. Through the words and compositions of others, I can understand and express my own emotions." 



    "Music is a way to feel less alone, however I'm feeling." 



    "Music is one of the things that brings me the very most joy in the world and makes me feel alive."



    "Music saved me and always took me away from what actually going on when I needed it to." 



    We also asked our readers when they listened to music the most. 100% of the participates said both, when upset and when happy. To follow up this question, we asked if they had any particular go to songs they went to for different moods. A few responses for songs when upset included: 

  "I have a whole playlist of them, but lately, it's been Shadow by Bleachers."

 

    "Talk To Me by Cavetown. Also Truce by Twenty One Pilots."


    "Therapy by All Time Low" 


    "I have a variety of songs depending on what I've been listening to, but right now Little Boy by Barns Courtney has been helping a lot." 


    "In Bloom - Neck Deep" 


    "Silver Springs by Fleetwood Mac, Last Hope by Paramore (also the entire After Laughter album), Panic Attack by Liza Anne." 


    "Face Up by Lights"


    "Either Vacancy by Civil Youth or Empty by Pvris" 



For songs when happy: 


    "The entire 1989 album by Taylor Swift."


    "All of Queen's songs, Jon Bellion, and many other artists." 


    "Me and Your Mama - Childish Gambino" 


    "Black Butterflies and Deja Vu - The Maine" 


    "Washing Machine Heart by Mitski, What I Want by The Band Camino, Crush by Tessa Violet" 


    "Gold by Vinyl Theatre" 


    "Morph by Twenty One Pilots" 



To finish up the questionnaire, we asked our readers how music has impacted their lives so we can see how different, yet similar, the impacts of music may be. Here are some responses we received:  


"Given me something to put all my energy and passion into"


    "It's made it more bearable and brought some purpose and comfort." 


    "It gives me a sense of direction." 


    "Music and the space around it is the reason I held on when I was suicidal. It was how someone checked in on me and offered help without realizing how important that was. It's a bonding tool for my dad and I and my sister and I as well." 


    "Music has literally changed my entire world. I've made friends, gained confidence, and had so many great experiences that I never would have had otherwise!" 


    "The artists and fans in the scene have been a family to me in the times I most needed support." 


    "Music honestly saved my life. It gave me a community of people who see and believe in me, it inspires me, it keeps me from being isolated."


    "Music has helped me through difficult times by always being something I could go to and making me feel happy." 


    "I've met my best friends through music and it's given me hope to continue on."



    The responses to these questions have not only shown me that music has a certain effect on everyone, but has shown me the many, different impacts it can have. Music is a way to make friends, it's an outlet, and it is important to many people. It is something that everyone can relate to. Music is a community, filled with tons of amazing people who share similar outlooks and thoughts, that basically create a second home for people. I am so grateful that I am a part of this community and can even contribute a little to it. 

Comments


bottom of page