top of page

5 Love Songs To Save Your Valentine's Day

Everyone loves love. Pop culture is saturated with romance, from sappy Hallmark movies to bestselling novels. In a world that places such high importance on the romantic relationship, love songs are as commonplace as receiving chocolates on Valentine's Day. So commonplace, in fact, that a great deal of love songs have begun to feel insincere, manufactured, and repetitive. No offense to any fans of his, but you’d have a hard time convincing me that Ed Sheeran’s “Shape of You” is the pinnacle of wholesome love. Despite the Top 40’s tendency towards plastic romance, the art of the love song is very much alive — and thriving. Even if your Valentine’s Day plans include copious amounts of chocolate ice cream and tears, these 5 songs contain enough love and devotion to make anyone believe in love again.

#5: My Heart Belongs To You - Marmalade Souls

I know what you’re thinking. Wow, Maureen, this song is so obscure that it’s not even on Spotify, you must be so cool and indie! Okay, maybe you’re not thinking that. But this beautiful little love song is in fact criminally underrated. As much as I would love to claim its discovery, that mantle really belongs to my mom, who stumbled across it while making a mix CD for my uncle years ago. How she managed to find this song by a Swedish indie band whose only album was released in 2007, I will never know — but I’m glad that she did. Filled with retro charm, the Beatles-esque song has some of the sweetest lyrics I’ve heard to date. “I’ll put the moon on your doorstep / I’ll paint your sky like the sunset / And if you want me to, I will bring down every star for you,” is sung over jangly guitar reminiscent of 60s pop. Overall, this obscure masterpiece is nothing short of adorable. #4: Who Do You Think You Are? - The New Schematics

The kicker for this song lies not in its lyrics, but in its music video. The video features singer Cory Bishop’s wife, Kristen, who listens to the song for the first time through a pair of headphones. Spliced between ending choruses is a recording of a voicemail she had left her husband, telling him that she loves and misses him and that she hopes his show goes well. In the video, Kristen’s shock at hearing her own voice is touching, to say the least. Unfortunately, The New Schematics announced in January that the project was coming to a close. Luckily, this heartwarming pop jam will continue to live on. #3: Aquaman - Walk the Moon

I’ve always thought that, if I were to get married, this would be my choice for a first dance. The synth-pop ballad compares falling in love with diving into the ocean. Filled with beautifully poetic metaphors, it tells a tale of full devotion and loyalty to one’s significant other. “Aquaman” is one of many love songs on Walk The Moon’s sophomore album “Talking Is Hard,” which encompasses a feeling of total infatuation with a lover. #2: Lovesong - The Cure

This song is undoubtedly a classic. Chances are you’ve heard this iconic tune while searching through the produce aisle at your local supermarket, or maybe your mom has played it for you while reminiscing about the 80s. Bottom line, if you’ve never heard this song, I’m judging you from afar. The Cure remains one of the most legendary bands in alternative history, with hits like “Friday I’m In Love” and “Boys Don’t Cry” racking up hundreds of millions of Spotify listens decades after their releases. “Lovesong” was written as a wedding present from frontman Robert Smith to his then-fiancée Mary Poole, to whom he is still married, and its simple, straightforward lyrics are enough to melt the coldest of hearts. #1: The Parts - Manchester Orchestra

No song makes me want to fall in love more than this song makes me want to fall in love. “The Parts” takes the cake when it comes to sincerity. It’s the farthest thing from manufactured romance I have stumbled across in all my musical exploits. The acoustic song uses lack of instrumentation and production to its advantage, providing a very raw, vulnerable sound to match equally stripped lyrics. When frontman Andy Hull wrote this song for his wife, Amy, he threw fluffy cliches out the window. Instead, he romanticized very real human moments throughout their relationship, from “a stain in a coffee cup” to the birth of their child, interspersed with a chorus stating “I want to know each part of you.” Off one of my favorite albums of all time, this song reminds me that love can indeed be found real life, not just in questionably sappy pop songs. HONORABLE MENTIONS:Golden - Hippo CampusI Would Do Anything For You - Foster The PeopleLet’s Talk About Feelings - JoywaveEverlong - Foo FightersSweet Dreams, TN - The Last Shadow PuppetsMasterpiece - Vinyl Theatre Written by Maureen!

Comments


bottom of page