top of page

REVIEW: "Dress Up" by The Regrettes

The Regrettes are a punk-rock band out of Los Angeles, California that consists of Lydia Night (lead vocalist/guitarist), Brooke Dickson (bassist), Genessa Gariano (guitarist), and Drew Thomsen (drummer). They released their first song, “A Living Human Girl,” on June 24, 2016, and later they released their debut album, “Feel Your Feelings Fool!,” on January 13, 2017. Now, in 2019, they released their cover of the iconic “Don’t Stop Me Now” by Queen, their song “Pumpkin” and (drum roll please) their latest single “Dress Up,” which is why we are here today.

The song starts quick with a sick beat and some catchy guitar and a few seconds later, the second guitar comes in smoothly. Lydia comes in with the vocals and her voice is hard to describe, but she goes lower than you would imagine (goes to show you shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover!). Her voice and some parts of this song remind me of the 90’s band “Hole." There’s so much happening, but everything goes so well together in this song. It’s very danceable, especially at the chorus. I love the way they have the vocals in the background. Before you hear the chorus for the last time, Lydia sings this short part and she gradually gets louder before yelling “I love you, I’m so sorry” which gave me chills. I feel like you could dance to this song, be angry to this song or maybe even sad; somehow it’s perfect for just about any mood. For some reason, the guitar in the song reminds me just slightly of “Are You Gonna Be My Girl” by Jet. It’s hard to explain why, but I find this song very relatable and I’m sure a lot of other people do too. Overall, this song is very well put together and has such a good beat and such catchy guitar that you can just get lost in.

The Regrettes have brought us yet another amazing song to jam out to and I cannot wait to see what else is to come! I think it’s safe to say that The Regrettes have single handedly brought back female fronted punk rock.



Stream Dress Up now: ​The Regrettes

Follow The Regrettes: Instagram Twitter Spotify

Written by Jalen and Edited by Kenna!

Comments


bottom of page