top of page

REVIEW: "Bambi" by Hippo Campus

Two months after its initial release, and a few weeks after physical copies hit shelves, Hippo Campus' sophomore album, "Bambi" is probably my favorite album I've listened to in 2018. The Minnesota-based indie pop band transitioned from their previous "Landmark" era into a more chill, aesthetically pleasing sound. each song tells its own story with its lyrics, and the instrumentals complement it perfectly. After going to the first leg of the Bambi Tour in New Haven, I was blown away by seeing how a band can play such mellow, soft pieces, yet still, perform with energy that passes on to the crowd.


The album opens with "Mistakes," a three-minute song that focuses primarily on instrumentals. If I'm being completely honest, I haven't listened to this song much, but the vibe it gives off is a perfect introduction to the album since the following songs follow a similar style. The song has very soft and soothing vocals that appear about halfway through. It begins and ends with instrumentals consisting of mostly synth and trumpet. 


The next song, "Anxious," starts to transition into the more upbeat section of the album. Written by bassist Zach Sutton, this song speaks about feeling anxious and connects with me in a way that is very relatable, which makes it one of my favorites. In addition to the lyrics, the instrumentals and beat is something I always find myself moving my head to, and "Anxious" definitely deserves more recognition.


My friend automatically fell in love with "Doubt" when I took her to the show, and I definitely can see why. The verses are fun, bouncy, and upbeat while the chorus and bridge transition into the soft and slow vibe that the band is trying to keep consistent throughout the album. Although the song has received criticism, I personally find it a favorite among my friend group of Hippo Campus fans and is usually one of the first songs I recommend when someone wants to check out the band.


"Bambi," carrying the same name as the full album, was the first single from it that the band released, and is in my opinion, one of the band's best works of their career. It sums up the aspect of not only the album but Hippo Campus' sound in just 3 minutes and 15 seconds. It has amazing lyrics, a great beat, and wonderful instrumentals that just make to the perfect song to listen to no matter what mood you're in. 


"Why Even Try" is also a favorite among my friends and I. The way the song progresses, alternating from fast to slow paced, gives off such a lovable vibe that you can't really get tired of. I'm also in love with how the leading and back up vocals work together towards the end of the song, making it fun to sing in car rides with friends or just to listen to alone with earbuds.


"Think It Over," although simple, short, and slow, is one of the best songs on the album. It's the song that first comes to mind whenever someone mentions "Bambi," because it's the perfect example of the chill aesthetic that the entire album has pieced together to form. Soft vocals, synths, and trumpets are the reason why "Think It Over" always has a spot on my calm playlist.


"Bubbles," being infamous for its brazen part in the middle, is also a perfect example of the vibe that Hippo Campus is giving off with this album. The song starts slow and doesn't really show signs of changing its tempo while you're listening, thus creating an element of surprise when you're hit with a loud, powerful, and upbeat verse that is basically indistinct in terms of lyrics. Then, the song returns to how it began; slow. This song is so crucial for this album to be as good as it is because the band wasn't trying to go for a solely upbeat vibe, a solely soft vibe, or a combination of both. It's unexpected; the music is powerful when you expect it to be soft, and vice versa, and"Bubbles" is just a 3-minute example of it.


I don't have much to say about the next song, "Honestly," other than the beat reminds me a lot of "Why Even Try," and the little "mess-up" at the beginning of the song always makes me laugh a little. It also compliments the album very well in terms of vocals and instrumentals, it's a pretty fun and chill song to listen to whenever I'm studying, working, or just want to listen to some music.


"Golden" was another single released before the full-length album, and it may have been the song that made me fall in love with the band in the first place. The underlying romantic theme, along with poetic lyrics and wonderful instrumentals were just enough to get me hooked. I find this song to be really underrated, and I definitely recommend to listen to it if you haven't already.


The album closes with "Passenger," a five-minute piece that reminds me a lot of "Mistakes." I get chills listening to this song because it's definitely not what "Landmark" era fans were expecting. The song is so beautifully put together, with amazing vocals that go perfectly with the instrumentals. My favorite part though is the ending, where the music fades to a piano piece composed by drummer Whistler Allen. The album ends the same way it started, and the way it's put together has made me gain so much respect and love for Hippo Campus, and I can't wait to see what they'll put out next. 


Be sure to check them out and follow them on social media: @thehalocline Also check out the new album here: Spotify


Review done by Nat and edited by Ash!

Kommentare


bottom of page