top of page

REVIEW: "How Do You Love?" by The Regrettes

The Regrettes is a punk rock band out of Los Angeles, California that consists of Lydia Night (lead vocals and guitar), Drew Thomsen (drums), Brooke Dickson (bass and backing vocals) and Genessa Gariano (guitar and backing vocals). They released their first song, “A Living Human Girl,” on June 24, 2016, and later they released their debut album, “Feel Your Feelings Fool!,” on January 13, 2017. Now they've released their sophomore album “How Do You Love?” on August 9th, 2019.


Are You in Love? (Intro): This is possibly the best intro I’ve heard for an album. Lydia is talking throughout the short intro and it’s a beautiful poem, with parts of it sounding like a commercial for medicine.


California Friends: This was the first single to be released for this album, coming out on October 5, 2018. It starts with a danceable beat with the first verse playing, then guitars come in and the singing stops for a short instrumental part. When the chorus comes in, it’s just the beat and singing again and then the guitars and everything else come back in and the chorus and the whole song is just so catchy and danceable. It’s just a fun, yet relatable song. Towards the end there’s a really good guitar solo then the beat picks up then the drums and guitars go crazy again and the chorus is back, and it’s probably the best part of the song.


I Dare You: This was the 4th and final single released for this album, coming out on June 18, 2019. This song, like most of their songs, puts me in such a good mood. It starts with drums and some guitar and shortly more guitar joins, introducing the fun vibe of the song. This is another relatable one that is very fun to dance to (they even released a video on how to do some of the dance included in the songs’ music video). The chorus is just so fun and I can’t see anyone sitting still while listening to it. There’s so much going on in this song and it all just comes together so well. Towards the end the music gets quiet and Lydia sings a little bit of the chorus then the drums come in dramatically and quickly, then the rest of the music comes back in just before it ends.


Coloring Book: They played this song at most of the shows on their recent tour. It starts with some really pretty guitar that’s kind of 80s-ish. Between the guitar and the way Lydia is singing, it almost gives me The Cranberries vibes (like their other song Pale Skin). The line “do you see somebody looking back at you, or do you see somebody that’s in love with you” hits me pretty hard and it’s my favorite line from this album, but I won’t get too into that. This song is one that I’d just lay back and listen to it and forget about everything for a few minutes. The whole thing is just so pretty and simple and calming in a sense. Towards the end, you hear the drums come in and the music picks up and it gives me 80s vibes and I love it, I think it’s the perfect ending.


Fog: It starts with some very groovy music and once Lydia starts singing, you know it’s gonna be yet another danceable one. The chorus is so catchy and fun. I think my favorite thing is the bass throughout the song, especially since people have been using bass less in music and I love when you can hear it loud and clear. With about a minute less, the music slows and slowly grows back while Lydia sings then it goes back to the chorus one last time.


Pumpkin: This song was the 2nd single for the album and it came out on February 14, 2019 (valentine’s day, adorable). The song starts with some nice bass, then Lydia’s voice comes in, followed by drums and shortly guitar. The build-up to the chorus is so good and the chorus is kind of like the 70s to me, the whole song is but mostly the chorus. The lyrics to this song are so cute and describe how she feels about her boyfriend so well. I also love how she throws in the line “and I know you like to pull the leaves off trees”, referring to the song “Pulling Leaves off Trees” by Wallows (the band that her boyfriend, Dylan Minnette, is in). I can’t even find many words to describe this song, but it’s a really good song. 


Stop and Go: They also played this one on most of their recent tour. This song is another pretty one that you can just lay back and listen to, in the beginning, but then music picks up out of nowhere and the chorus is so catchy and danceable and it kinda gives me 70s vibes again. I love how when they say “stop before we lose control” the music stops for a second when they say “stop”. Towards the end it’s groovy music then picks back up for the chorus before ending. This one goes by fast, but it slaps. 


Dress Up: This was the 3rd single released for the album and came out on May 3, 2019. (I reviewed this song when it came out, but I’ll gladly do it again for the album). From the start, the music is already so fun. The chorus is so catchy and the guitar makes me wanna get up and dance. Then again, the whole song makes me wanna dance. If you pay attention to the words, this is another relatable one. Towards the end Lydia sings then yells ”I’m so sorry” then the chorus comes in again and honestly, that’s the best part of the song.


Dead Wrong: I love the music in the song from the very beginning. It’s so aesthetic and 80s-ish, it’s one of my favorites. I can see you dancing or laying back to this song and that’s not common in songs. The lyrics are, again, very relatable. I don’t even have words to describe this song, I don’t know what to say. It’s just one of their best songs in my opinion.


More than a Month: It starts with some really fast guitar then everything comes in and it’s all pretty fast, and I love the way Lydia says “what the fuck” for some reason. The music calms down about a minute in, then after about 30 seconds, it speeds back up. I guess they can’t make a non-relatable song because this is another relatable one. The music slows down again later on and then the music changes completely and I love the ending, I’m not sure how to describe it.


Go Love You: This one is another one of my favorites. It starts with repeating the line “you can’t love me, so go love you” ad from the beginning, you know this is a good “f you” type of song. The lyrics throughout the whole thing are jabs at a boy and the song is both funny and serious at the same time. I also love the “you think it’s pretty funny huh? Ahahaha”. This song is perfect for someone who just went through a break up with a similar boy, who has a big head.


Here You Go: This one is my favorite song by The Regrettes. They also played this on their recent tour (I was at that show which is another reason why I love it. It was one of the best nights ever). I love how they used “Close to Me” by The Cure in this. I love that song and it fits in perfectly with this one. This song is so catchy and it’s another one that you could either dance to or chill to. It’s also another very relatable one. This is another one I can’t find the right words to describe, but it’s so good.


The Game: This another one of my favorites. The beat and all the music is so good. It’s aesthetic yet danceable. Everything about this song is just so good and everything goes together so well. At the end, there’s a pretty instrumental part with some background singing and it’s such a good way to end the song.


Has It Hit You?: Another one of my favorites. I love how punk rock this song is. The music sounds so “angry” I guess is the best way to describe it. I can’t wait to experience this one live. The chorus is so catchy and Lydia yells “ow” and makes her voice go high quick which is very hard to do. I also can’t quite find the words to describe this one.


How Do You Love?: Here we have the last song of the album, but quite possibly the catchiest song of the album. From the beginning its a very danceable song and I like how it slows down and speeds up now and then. The chorus is so fun and catchy and good and it just gives you this unexplainable feeling. And Lydia hits this high note that sounds so good. This is another one that has a lot going on, but it all goes together so well. This song is a shorter one, but they make the most out of it.


Overall, I think this is my favorite album by The Regrettes so far and everyone really should listen to it. It’s honestly an amazing experience just listening to this album. Quite honestly, it’s one of my favorite albums from this year so far.



Review by Jalen!

Comments


bottom of page