top of page

REVIEW: "Less Than I Do" by The Band CAMINO

Following their previous single, “Know Me,” which was released on October 19th of this year, The Band CAMINO released a single last week titled “Less Than I Do” – with little warning to their fans. Similar to the release of “Know Me,” the Memphis based band announced the release of “Less Than I Do” on Twitter and Instagram just twelve hours before the song was released. It was quickly well received by fans and was even added to Spotify’s “New Release Friday” playlist. The new single also came in time for their much anticipated headlining tour starting late January, the “Love of the Game” tour, and fans cannot wait to hear this one live.


The track starts with a catchy electronic pop beat, in contrast to their single “Daphne Blue,” released in August, which is more rock and is heavy with electric guitar and strong bass. While we hear a bit of the “Daphne Blue” sound in the new single, particularly after the first chorus, it certainly isn’t as prominent. The heavy electronic influence on “Less Than I Do” makes it noticeably different from all of their previous music but doesn’t take away from The Band CAMINO’s unique sound.


As a common theme in many of their songs, “Less Than I Do” also has a catchy, happy tone with lyrics that are quite the opposite. This song is about a failed relationship filled with regret – “I said some things I wish I hadn’t” – and wanting the other person back. The title of the song comes from the lyrics “I can only hope you feel blue, less than I do.” This lyric hits home for many listeners, as it expresses a feeling of hoping the other person misses you, but not wishing for them to feel the amount of pain you feel; it shows that inner conflict of not wanting a person you love to hurt, but hoping that you meant enough to them that they still feel the grief of losing your relationship.


Overall, The Band CAMINO’s new song was very well received by fans, including myself, and showed us a style of music that we’ve never seen from them before. It also gave us yet another reason to look forward to their “Love of the Game” tour, and we eagerly await their next new release.



Follow The Band CAMINO on Instagram and Twitter: @thebandcamino

Check out "Less Than I Do"


The review is written and edited by Monica!

Comments


bottom of page